The Natural History Museum, known by the population as "Palacio Guasch" is located in the heart of the city of Pinar del Río. Influenced by a strong Catalan Modernism, the building is an architectural jewel of eclectic style and is considered the rarest building in Cuba.
The Palacio has 8 exhibition halls which are in phylogeny order, and exhibit the most representative of the Cuban fauna and some exotic specimens. It also has a central courtyard where native vegetation and prehistoric animals depicted to scale and a living exposing of the most interesting archaeological sites showcase in the province.
Among the services offered by the Museum to the visitors, are the guided tours where exhibitions and architectural values of the property for which the Palace was declared Monument in 2000 Local are shown.
Between 1909 and 1914 began construction of this beautiful palace by Dr. Francisco Guasch Ferrer; an incredibly versatile man (gynecologist, sculptor, poet and great intellectual capacity), that supported only by 2 masons, made this majestic architectural work (the first Cuban building built entirely of reinforced concrete).
In April 1977 Dr. Francisco Alvarez (grandson of the above scientific) donated the house to the Cuban state with all collections and was converted into a Museum of Natural Sciences.
Karla Padrón Nardiz